Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Dental Specialties - A Simple Guide

What are the Dental Specialties recognized by the American Dental Association? 

Periodontics is the specialty recognized by the ADA for Treatment of the gums, and dental implants. 

The other eight specialties the ADA recognizes (in simple terms) are:

  • Dental Public Health - Dental health issues dealing with the public at large.
  • Endodontics - Root canal treatment.
  • Orthodontics - Straightening of the teeth. 
  • Oral Surgery - Implant placement, jaw alignment surgeries, extractions.
  • Oral Pathology - Diseases of the oral cavity.
  • Pediatric Dentistry - Children’s dentistry.
  • Prosthodontics - Tooth restoration and replacement.  
  • Dental Radiology - Radiology of the mouth. 

For more information, please visit the ADA's site or you may contact Periodontal Associates in Denver - Aurora, CO - Dr. Ken Versman & Dr. Doug Heller  or call us at 303-755-4500. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Dr. Versman, Dr. Heller, and Dr. Beckman would like to thank you for taking the time to visit their blog and we would love to hear from you!

For more information, to schedule an appointment or a dental consultation, please visit us at www.periodontalhealth.com